Author Topic: What would you have to do if you replaced passive with active?  (Read 1856 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zkash_guitarist

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1053
  • Good Vibes 5
  • ...
What would you have to do if you replaced passive with active?
« on: December 09, 2009, 05:55:51 pm »
  As the topic says, I'm just curious to know. Also, if a pickup system comes with it's own pick-up selector, do you have to change the pickguard?
Check out my roadcase.

Offline MadCat

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 630
  • Good Vibes 6
  • Kassel-Germany
Re: What would you have to do if you replaced passive with active?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2009, 06:58:46 pm »
If both are the same, no. Unscrew the old one from the pickguard and put the new one on. Or you can use the old switch, but you have to solder.
The switch doesn't matter, but you have to change the potis.
My gear is here

Offline zkash_guitarist

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1053
  • Good Vibes 5
  • ...
Re: What would you have to do if you replaced passive with active?
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2009, 06:23:35 am »
  And if you want to install an extra knob, what would ypu have to do?
Check out my roadcase.

Offline Tourniquet

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • Stadium Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
  • Good Vibes 75
  • Time exists in abundance until it runs out
Re: What would you have to do if you replaced passive with active?
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2009, 08:07:57 am »
An "extra" knob would require figuring out where you want it.
drilling through the top (if you can accommodate it in the space available in the control cavity)
if there isn't enough space you may need to extend the control cavity with a router and make a custom cover.
then you'd need to figure out how this extra knob fits into the wiring circuit. soldering it in and grounding it.
       Road Case        Singing Primer guide

Offline zkash_guitarist

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1053
  • Good Vibes 5
  • ...
Re: What would you have to do if you replaced passive with active?
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2009, 08:27:10 am »
  I'm asking because my pickguard had scratches before I even bought it. I've been looking around to replace it, and I've found this pickguard which seems to come with its own pick-ups(for 300$!!!!!). But it has 3 knobs, whereas my guitar only has 2. So If I want to put another knob I should go to someone who has experience with this(e.g Music Shop). ???
Check out my roadcase.

Offline Tourniquet

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • Stadium Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
  • Good Vibes 75
  • Time exists in abundance until it runs out
Re: What would you have to do if you replaced passive with active?
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2009, 08:55:35 am »
that's a loaded scratchplate. all you need do with that is ensure you have sufficient cavity space (not all strats are the same under the pickguard). if all's fine there you just lift the old one out, disconnect the jack, connect the jack to the new one and drop it in. (might need to pilot drill a few holes for screws if they don't all line up)
If I recall, pacifica pickguards and fender pickguards aren't exactly the same.
       Road Case        Singing Primer guide

Offline zkash_guitarist

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1053
  • Good Vibes 5
  • ...
Re: What would you have to do if you replaced passive with active?
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2009, 09:12:32 am »
  Really? Aw man, this could screw up everything... :-\
Check out my roadcase.

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App