Author Topic: mid-guitar pickup crisis  (Read 1704 times)

surfnmusic90

mid-guitar pickup crisis
« on: October 11, 2009, 02:19:44 am »
hello all

so.... i think its time for a change in my tone.

i play a yamaha pacifica which, as you know, is a beginners guitar but to be honest i dont really need to be spending x amount of dollars on a really nice guitar (although i want to) so i was thinking about the pick-ups. ive been playing for a couple years but i dont really have any experience with pickups, i just use the ones that came with my guitar, and i hear people all over the place talk about custom pickups this and new pickups that etc etc.... so its time i get myself up to date.

currently my guitar sounds weak, it gets alright sounds, but the there is no depth to it, and the tone i would ideally like is something smooth round and clean, and with more of a crunchy distortion than loud and muddy. i could just be grasping at straws, but how does one go about finding the right pickups? ive done research but there are literally 10000000s of different types, and i need some 1st hand info. my yamaha has a humbucker and two single coils, so what are the possibilities? i really dont know what im working with but i dont have any qualms about doing a little workshop changes to my guitar.

price is a problem, otherwise id just by an american fender strat. so i was wonder what are the options that i have for changing my tone via new pick-ups. any advice would be appreciated, even better if youve actually worked with custom installed pick ups

sorry i dont know more about it.... thanks in advance

Offline Dan Graves

• All Time Legend
  • Good Vibes 172
  • Like Tuesday; Gone, with the Wind.
Re: mid-guitar pickup crisis
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2009, 02:23:59 am »
I'm wondering here...
What kind of amp are you using ?

surfnmusic90

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2009, 02:29:43 am »