Author Topic: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...  (Read 3043 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MadCat

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
  • Good Vibes 6
  • Kassel-Germany
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2009, 09:09:06 am »
This mic has a big reputation in the whole guitar world:
http://www.thomann.de/gb/shure_sm57lc_bundle.htm
My gear is here

Offline TB-AV

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 14966
  • Good Vibes 329
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2009, 12:59:02 pm »
"is that similar to but better than Audacity?"

Yes, and you don't need more ram. Reaper is a very small and highly efficient program that gets tweaked and updated on a continuous basis.  To put it in perspective I have a P4 w/1G ram sitting here right now with 16 tracks of audio and 16 tracks of midi and it's not even breaking a sweat. Your PC can do way more than that.



Gone

Offline gareth51

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 787
  • Good Vibes 11
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #17 on: September 20, 2009, 04:00:49 pm »
Thanks Wishbone.  My amp doesn't have a slave output, although I am looking to upgrade my amp sometime.  Being able to record vocals and guitar at the same time is not a huge priority for me, but I was just curious.  I am looking at an alternative interface from M-Audio that includes a MIDI interface for my keyboard.  However, I have a lot of other expenses coming up (moving house + wedding) so it may all have to wait.
Agile AL-3100, Aria STG-003, Tanglewood TFA XB, Blackstar HT-5R
YouTube  Roadcase Soundcloud

Offline Wishbone

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 4086
  • Good Vibes 105
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #18 on: September 20, 2009, 11:28:37 pm »
Close2u-

Pulled these in one raid from the Dolphin website:

Tascam US-144 £115
Alesis iO2    £119
Lexicon Alpha Studio £69
Maya 44 USB £79
ESI UGM96 £64
PreSonus Audiobox USB £119
Creative E-MU 0202 USB £78.99
M-Audio Mobile Pre USB £92
Lexicon Lambda Studio £116.91
M-Audio Fast Track USB £59


Various makes and models in varying price brackets, all doing pretty much the same thing plus or minus a feature or two. Reading reviews, they all have their fanboys and detractors, but the EMU 0202 USB is very highly spoken of across the board. For 79 quid, they're a good compromise on price too, considering their features and a good software bundle to go with it.

However, any one of these will allow you to jack your axe into your PC and record in much higher quality that you ever could with your onboard Realtek, with zero latency to worry about. Trust me when I say that once you get a proper interface set up, all the frustration of trying to squeeze more recording quality out of your system goes away. You just have to learn how to use your software and equipment then. If you feel like taking the plunge and you're not sure which direction to take, give me a shout; you can tell me what your total requirements are and I'll help you with what you need to know to make your decision.

Gareth-

There are different ways you could do that and each have pros and cons. It comes down to experimenting and finding what sounds best with what you have. That, or winning the lottery and having a studio built at the bottom of your garden :)

Offline LievenDV

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 7451
  • Good Vibes 151
    • Point Fifty
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #19 on: September 21, 2009, 08:28:52 am »
this 32 bit version of vista is idd not so capable of using more than 2 GB ram.
using a 64bit version may end up in some compatibility errors.

Don't worry about the RAM

make sure you have enough diskscpace to record in high quality and some room as scrtch disks for your software to buffer when it's doing effects on longer parts of wav's

you'll pcc will work fine but if it's a laptop (yeah vostro's are laptops right) you migth want to consider an audio interface.
this for ease of use. i'm no audio-interface specialist, so my advice stops here :)
my band: fb: Point Fifty | Instagram: Point Fifty

Offline bluepingu34

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #20 on: September 21, 2009, 04:51:24 pm »
My new laptop runs Vista 32 with 4GB of RAM, and I've had no problems at all ???

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 11152
  • Good Vibes 430
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #21 on: September 21, 2009, 06:29:06 pm »
so many helpful responses - thanks everyone

lots of thinking and research to do now - and maybe setting money aside too



ps

my computer is a tower Vostro are laptops and towers

Offline TB-AV

  • Honorable Ex-Mod
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 14966
  • Good Vibes 329
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #22 on: September 21, 2009, 06:52:17 pm »
"My new laptop runs Vista 32 with 4GB of RAM, and I've had no problems at all "

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929605
Gone

Offline MadCat

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
  • Good Vibes 6
  • Kassel-Germany
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #23 on: September 21, 2009, 07:00:25 pm »
I've had the same. Installed 4GB of RAM and Vista only showed 3.xGB, can't remember exactly. But there were no Problems, just wasted money! >:(
But 3GB are better than 2 anyway. ;)
My gear is here

Offline bluepingu34

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2009, 06:01:09 pm »
Mine says 4000MB, so almost full...

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 11152
  • Good Vibes 430
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #25 on: December 31, 2009, 07:38:09 pm »
old thread bump

okay, my borrowed Sony Handycam is no longer being recognised by my PC

I've trawled the web for a fix and I don't think there is one - just awkward Sony old product and awkward Vista new update being incompatible


so

I need something to record audio / video again

I'm going back to using my Lumix camera for the video is fine .... but the audio it gives is rubbish ...

my Peavey Vypyr has what Peavey calls a 'studio quality' lline out so that's what I will use to connect to ...

and here I think I have to go back to wishbone's suggestions of a usb connecting piece of kit

the thing is I don't need a whole load of software effects - the vypyr has plenty ... and I now have reaper aswell as audacity ...

so am I still well advised to look at the list wishbone gave ... or can any new things be added to it?

cheers
« Last Edit: December 31, 2009, 07:51:25 pm by close2u »

Offline Wishbone

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 4086
  • Good Vibes 105
  • Scouse B'Stard
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #26 on: December 31, 2009, 09:29:46 pm »
The Emu 0202 has everything you need to connect up and record that way, comes highly recommended and doesn't come cluttered with a huge software bundle to bump up the price. If you're using the line out on the Peavey, you won't need a mic; if you want to mic up later, the 0202 has preamps that are very serviceable, as long as you keep in mind that the 0202 doesn't have phantom power, so your choice of mics becomes limited in that sense.

That list is more or less up to date, Close. They just change the software bundles and/or the packaging, but the product remains the same in most cases. I'm recommending the 0202 'cos I have experience with the 0404 USB and it's an absolutely solid bit of kit for the money. For all it has less functionality than the 0404, the 0202 is still of the same family and comes highly recommended.

Added to that, price-wise, £77 from Dolphin isn't that much to get connected up to your PC properly. Lots of bangs for your buck, mate :)

Offline Bootstrap

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2170
  • Good Vibes 64
  • Never yield.
    • The Tale Of Bootstrap
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #27 on: December 31, 2009, 11:34:01 pm »
Hi Close,

In some other threads I've been banging on about my new Zoom Q3 it is a low res barebones(640 x 480) handycam BUT it has 2 on board 120 degree directional condenser mics. Each mic has an on screen level meter so you can adjust.

You can record in a variety of audio quality settings from 96kHz/24 bit (audio only) or 48kHz in movie mode. Lots of different bit rates for MP3. Has a low cut filter for noise and comes with a muff if you want to go outside.

It also has onboard basic editing software ie you can delete before and after a certain point. And it has upload software onboard so you can upload directly to utube or facebook etc which is what I wanted it for.

I think it represents pretty good value for money - got mine from a States based eBay site delivered here in Oz for $AU312.00.

I love the little goomer - when I get back from holidays I will upload some stuff to utube.

Have a squiz here if it takes your fancy http://www.zoom.co.jp/english/products/q3

Cheers, Bootstrap
The best guitar is the one you have in your hands
Road Case last update 11 Mar 2012

Offline bluepingu34

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #28 on: January 04, 2010, 04:44:12 pm »
Close2u: also have a look at the Samson Q1U. :)

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 11152
  • Good Vibes 430
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: My computer ... is the hardware / software good enough ...
« Reply #29 on: January 04, 2010, 04:55:44 pm »
thanks for the extra suggestions - I'm still window shopping  :)

the Q3 looks good but is pricey

further questions

If I move away from equipment that plugs straight in to the computer, is there a device that can record audio direct from a line-out of an amp and save it in a format that can then be transferred on to my PC for use in movie maker etc and syncing with video from a digital camera?

The reason for asking this is I have a camera that can take good images on video but poor quality audio.

To buy a new camcorder with good quality audio and video will cost quite a lot.

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App