Author Topic: The Lawsuit of Katy Perry - The Death of Writing Music?  (Read 301 times)

Offline GermanGuitarNoob

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 0
The Lawsuit of Katy Perry - The Death of Writing Music?
« on: September 23, 2019, 02:34:55 am »
So. If you are interested in music I think you have heard of it: A christian rapper sued Katy Perry for plagiarism of her song Dark Horse and won the case. The results are many videos which are spreading panic that this is the equivalent of a company claiming normal words like "hello". Some are stating that the court basically ruled that the Minor Pentatonic belongs to the christian rapper now and that musicians or rather the companies behind them could even copyright chords now or even modes of tone like a piano on keynoard...

I know that this is about a simple progression of notes... but nothing more.

I have no legal background and I am not deep into music theory. I can not estimate how valid this panicking videos are. But this is getting on my nerves a bit  ;D

Maybe some of you can share their thought or even explain a bit more.

Offline 8livesleft

• School Prom Hero
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: The Lawsuit of Katy Perry - The Death of Writing Music?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2019, 07:17:28 am »
Yeah, it's tricky nowadays with so much stuff coming out.

I remember watching a movie called Rockstar with Wahlberg. Had some catchy tunes on it.

After a couple months, me and my friend were working on song ideas and I "came up" with this catchy riff. Then, lo-and-behold, another friend recognizes it as being very similar to the one in the movie. I didn't even realize that I copied the damn thing.

So, yeah, it can happen without our knowing it. And even then, there's only so much you can create especially with the Pop genre. Happy chord progressions and all that.

But that's interesting because blues is basically the exact same progression, same with those 5 notes you use with the blues...

Sent from my ASUS_X01BDA using Tapatalk