Author Topic: TE-002 • Golden Rules Of Technique Practice  (Read 562 times)

Offline Indigo

• Administrator
  • Concert Hall Hasbeen
  • Good Vibes 3
« Last Edit: August 15, 2014, 07:40:42 pm by Indigo »

Offline TLT

• Bedroom Rocker
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: TE-002 • Golden Rules Of Technique Practice
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2015, 02:38:32 pm »
I am wondering about Justin's thoughts on "fixing bad habits"  -- a process of "unlearning" or "re-learning" -- in relation to technique practice. 

I have not played guitar in over 30 years and when I did, I was self-taught or taught by friends. Going through Justin's courses from Beginner through Intermediate and  Fingerstyle, I realize that I have a number of basic, mostly hidden bad habits that I learned a long time ago.  My worst bad habit is the thumb positioning of my fretting hand: I tend to "hold" the guitar with my palm, resting it on my palm.  This causes my thumb to lie flat against the back of the guitar and my fingers to slant sideways, such that I clutch the neck between my fingers and the base of my palm, rather than squeezing the neck between my thumb and fingertips.  This results in both a cramping of my hand, and muting of the first high E string.

I have a lot of other bad habits - everything from posture and hand positioning, to strumming, picking, string muting techniques, keeping the rhythmn, tensing up - so many! And they are things that pervade all my playing.  I feel like because I learned things way back when "fast and dirty" and without a teacher to correct me, I carelessly built motor memory over and over again, and ended up being really good at repeating my mistakes!

I just spent some time looking at Justin's Technique and Practice sections, and the "Golden Rules of Technique Practice" caught my eye as relating to fixing bad habits.

1.  PRACTICE MAKES PERMANENT: Focus first on changing basic bad habits starting now and practice until it is learned.