Author Topic: TB-009 • How To Use A Metronome  (Read 15297 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bug

  • School Prom Hero
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Good Vibes 1
Re: TB-009 • How To Use A Metronome
« Reply #15 on: October 27, 2013, 06:15:57 pm »
I just wanted to say that I bought the Korg MA-30 nine months ago and it's already stopped working - the sound no longer works at all.

Disappointing. Couldn't recommend one to anyone.

Offline stitch101

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 4002
  • Good Vibes 123
Re: TB-009 • How To Use A Metronome
« Reply #16 on: October 27, 2013, 06:57:28 pm »
Have you check the battery?

Offline Bug

  • School Prom Hero
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Good Vibes 1
Re: TB-009 • How To Use A Metronome
« Reply #17 on: October 27, 2013, 07:00:03 pm »
I have Stitch. It didn't help  :(

Offline stitch101

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 4002
  • Good Vibes 123
Re: TB-009 • How To Use A Metronome
« Reply #18 on: October 27, 2013, 07:04:30 pm »
It should be under warranty. If you have your receipt take it back. Sucks that it quit on you. They do
stand behind their product.

Offline Mighi Tarra

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
  • Good Vibes 1
  • Never too old to start ... but feeling clumsy!
Re: TB-009 • How To Use A Metronome
« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2017, 11:07:06 pm »
I use the metronome in the 1 minute changes. Is it right? Is it wrong?

I found out that I was muddling all the chords to increase the amount in the minute; no good.
I found out my changes were made at different speed in ...  let's say Dm to E than E to Dm.
I found out that the metronome gave me the mental anticipation to get the new chord ready, and even sometimes made my hand do it w/o thinking.

So here's what I do:
    1st:  I do a 30 sec. first approach
    2nd: Set the metronome at aproximately that speed or a little slower with 1 beat per change/bar.
    3rd: Try the speed for aprox 15-20 secs and speed up in 5bpm if ALL the chords are clean and in time
    4th:  When I find the right-ish speed I try with the metronome for 1 full minute
    5th:  Ticked right when the speed is 80  beats/changes per minute.

It works for me! Has anyone else tried this?

I also use it to practice the chords progressions, but then with 4beats per bar.

Cheers!

PS.: Beginner Level 2-3
 
Tanglewood TW28 CSN, Squier Affinity Strat HSS, Fender Champion 20, Epiphone Les Paul Express ... so far.

Offline stitch101

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 4002
  • Good Vibes 123
Re: TB-009 • How To Use A Metronome
« Reply #20 on: January 26, 2017, 11:29:42 pm »
What ever helps you learn is good. Using the metronome will also help you keep time.
Keep up the good work
Don't for get to have fun and learn songs.

Offline DarrellW

  • Concert Hall Hasbeen
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Good Vibes 15
  • Still learning.......
Re: TB-009 • How To Use A Metronome
« Reply #21 on: January 27, 2017, 07:38:45 am »
I also use a metronome for changes, it definitely improves your timing. As you've said you have found yourself taking longer to change from one chord to another with different chords, playing in a song doesn't allow you to do this, so in real terms taking longer over one change than another could be learning a bad habit.
The metronome is your best friend!!!
Acoustic: Taylor 214ce, Sigma 00M -15, old no name classical
Electric: Squire classic vibe 50's tele; 1998 Squire affinity tele (bit battered and bruised ;) ).
Amp: Blackstar ID Core Beam. FX: Electro Harmonix 720 Looper, Zoom 505 II, Bespeco Volume pedal

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App