Justin Guitar Community

Tools of the Trade => Computer & OS => Topic started by: Loco on December 31, 2011, 03:32:48 pm

Title: problem with quicktime plugin
Post by: Loco on December 31, 2011, 03:32:48 pm
i can't get justin's ear trainer to work, when i click on start it says that the QT plugin has crashed

i have windows 7 x64, firefox 8.0, quicktime 7.7.1

any ideas?
Title: Re: problem with quicktime plugin
Post by: BenDover on June 16, 2012, 10:10:22 am
Same here,

I tried with Windows 7 (IE and Firefox), Android and OpenSuse. QuickTime is up to date - just updated it again today but it keeps crashing.

Any solution / suggestion to it?

My ear is really "bad" and Justin claims we should work out the stuff our self. I really like getting into that, but I feel the need for some ear training up-front  ;)


Cheers!
Title: Re: problem with quicktime plugin
Post by: old-and-in-the-way on June 16, 2012, 01:57:32 pm
I don't think it's a quicktime problem -- it doesn't work on my system either (even when I allow all of the tracking javascript nonsense), which doesn't use quicktime for audio.

Edit ...

Hrm.  that may not be the case -- something may have snatched my soundcard and timidity can't get lock.

Nope, it's definitely busted.

The ear trainer generates a midi stream from http://www.justinguitar.com/eartrainer/app/generate.php (based on an argument it's given)

eg

http://www.justinguitar.com/eartrainer/app/generate.php?fd168217a0b27fe70362548671240585

This produces output marked audio/midi, but the inlined file in the body is empty.

Therefore, generate.php is buggered.  There will probably be useful information in the apache error log for whoever writes/maintains these tools.
Title: Re: problem with quicktime plugin
Post by: LievenDV on June 16, 2012, 02:24:49 pm
greetings all,

A few weeks back, whe drew the same conclusion (that the generated midi will need to be formatted differently) and we informed the developer of the ear trainer. Ip till now; it seems that he haven't found a working solution yet...
Title: Re: problem with quicktime plugin
Post by: Loco on June 16, 2012, 02:58:46 pm
It's not a problem with quicktime itself, it's a problem with quicktime FF plugin. I tried Google Chrome and it works fine. I'm not really happy with having browser installed just for one app but hey...
Title: Re: problem with quicktime plugin
Post by: Byshon on September 04, 2012, 05:26:50 pm
greetings all,

A few weeks back, whe drew the same conclusion (that the generated midi will need to be formatted differently) and we informed the developer of the ear trainer. Ip till now; it seems that he haven't found a working solution yet...