Author Topic: BC-163 • Using a Capo  (Read 15276 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline justinguitar

  • Administrator
  • Stadium Superstar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4134
  • Good Vibes 151
    • justinguitar.com
BC-163 • Using a Capo
« on: October 07, 2009, 12:11:07 pm »
« Last Edit: October 07, 2009, 12:39:07 pm by justinguitar »
"You can get help from teachers, but you are going to have to learn a lot by yourself, sitting alone in a room." Dr. Seuss

Offline Mannyboy

  • Bedroom Rocker
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Good Vibes 1
  • GuitarMann
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2011, 11:08:11 pm »
I'm trying to learn "Timing is Everything" (Justin may consider for an upcoming lesson), a great song from the movie Country Strong.  A beautiful song by Garrett Hedlund and I generally don't like Country!

Some versions online call for a capo on the second fret and some song versions call for the capo on the fourth fret and some do not mention a capo at all.  All of the YouTube vids I have seen show the capo on the 4th fret.  My questions.  Which fret?  What real difference does this make?  I also noticed the A minor sounds "off" with the capo on the fourth fret and my guitar is tuned correctly.  Why is this and is this right?

Offline irishalkies

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2053
  • Good Vibes 36
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2011, 11:30:13 pm »
Some versions online call for a capo on the second fret and some song versions call for the capo on the fourth fret and some do not mention a capo at all.  All of the YouTube vids I have seen show the capo on the 4th fret.

I listened to this version:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajuuMRecoKY

I'm pretty useless at transcribing, so take what I say with a pinch of salt. That sounds to me like it's in open tuning with no capo, and this TAB seems to be pretty spot on.

http://tabs.ultimate-guitar.com/g/garrett_hedlund/timing_is_everything_ver2_crd.htm

What real difference does this make?

The difference the capo makes is the pitch/voicings of the chords. Say for example you played an open Cmajor chord without a capo - that's obviously Cmajor. If you had a capo on the 2nd fret, then you'd play an A shaped barre Bbmajor chord for your Cmajor (root on the A string 3rd fret(note C)). If you had a capo on the 5th fret, then you'd play an open G chord for a Cmajor chord (root on the E string 8th fret(note C)).

I also noticed the A minor sounds "off" with the capo on the fourth fret and my guitar is tuned correctly.  Why is this and is this right?

I assume you're playing an acoustic and that's just the nature of the instrument. Try tuning with the capo on to get it in tune.


Offline jaygol

  • School Prom Hero
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Good Vibes 2
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2013, 06:36:29 am »
"The above trick doesn’t always work, but it very often does"

Hi, could anyone give me examples of when/why it doesn't work? Thanks!

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 11152
  • Good Vibes 430
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2013, 07:30:27 am »
who are you quoting jaygol?

Offline jaygol

  • School Prom Hero
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Good Vibes 2
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2013, 12:09:49 pm »
I'm quoting Justin

Offline shearer

  • Pub Night Playa
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Good Vibes 1
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2013, 06:32:39 pm »
Hi there when I use a capo say on the first fret I struggle to play a A chord on first fret but even harder when I move up the neck without buzzing a string I fryer doing a barre for the A chord but not able to play it like that either any help please.

Offline linkinpaak

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Good Vibes 0
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2013, 06:59:42 pm »
I don't usually see capos used as much with electric guitars as I do acoustic guitars.  Is that just because of my music preference (grunge, metal, rock) or is that generally true?  If that's usually the case, why?

Online stitch101

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 4782
  • Good Vibes 169
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2013, 07:32:45 pm »
You'll see mostly singer songwriters use Capos because they'll use a capo to change key instead of
transposing the song to another key. I've jammed with so many people that play everything out of
C and just move the Capo up and down the neck.

In grunge, metal and rock they'll transpose to a different key if the song is not in the key the singer likes.
Also most of these bands write their own music so they write it in the key they sing in.

Singer songwriters will play other people's music which may be written in a different key and a Capo is
the easiest way to change key. And most singer songwriters don't play electric guitars.

Offline SiegeFrog

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 536
  • Good Vibes 18
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2014, 08:00:34 am »
I don't have much experience with using a capo, but is it common to have to retune after putting the capo on? While working through the Beginner's SongBook I've started playing more songs along with the original which has necessitated the use of a capo a lot. I'm finding that if I first tune my guitar then attach the capo and check the new tuning that it's always sharp. Even to my ears, and my ears are horrible. I then have to go back and retune all the strings with the capo attached. Am I doing something wrong? It's a Kyser capo like Justin recommends. It seems really tight to me; is it possible that's it's pushing down on the strings too hard?
Fender Squier Affinity HSS Stratocaster
Fender Mustang 1
Seagull Maritime SWS CW SG QI

Started BC January, 2014, Completed May, 2015

Offline close2u

  • Administrator
  • All Time Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 11152
  • Good Vibes 430
  • Teesside, North East England.
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2014, 09:11:38 am »
Yes, push too hard and notes can go sharp.
Also, even with the correct pressure, if your guitar is not perfectly intonated, then you may have slight out-of-tune areas on your guitar neck.
Don't worry over it too much.
Just make the small re-tuning adjustments.
Of course you do want your guitar to be as well intonated as possible.
If you can't do that, search for it on here for DIY or take it to a tech.
It will help with the problem.
Step 1 adjust the pressure imparted by the capo.

Offline mouser9169

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 1169
  • Good Vibes 32
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2014, 03:51:05 pm »
That's why I use a Schubb adjustable capo :)

A guitar's neck is not uniformly thick down it's length, so a capo that is the right pressure for one fret may be too tight or too loose at another.

Although I've heard now there's a capo with a clutch, similar to Robogrip pliers. That would solve the problem as well once you have it adjusted right for your strings.
Mouser's Rules of Music:

1) Always Trust your Muse.
2) See Rule 1)

Offline SiegeFrog

  • Arena Rocker
  • *****
  • Posts: 536
  • Good Vibes 18
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2014, 04:07:10 pm »
Step 1 adjust the pressure imparted by the capo.

How does one adjust the pressure imparted by a Kyser capo?
Fender Squier Affinity HSS Stratocaster
Fender Mustang 1
Seagull Maritime SWS CW SG QI

Started BC January, 2014, Completed May, 2015

Offline Borodog

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 2685
  • Good Vibes 92
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2014, 04:20:28 pm »
Always tune after capo goes on.
Insert humorous signature here.

Offline shadowscott007

  • Stadium Superstar
  • ******
  • Posts: 3482
  • Good Vibes 118
Re: BC-163 • Using a Capo
« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2014, 06:37:08 pm »
Tune. Capo. Tune.

The post capo tune should be a tweak.

Shadow
The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

 

Get The Forum As A Mobile App